Photos are funny things

I look in the mirror and I generally think I’m looking alright at the moment.  But then I take a photo and it takes forever to get one that I’m happy with.  I’m not really sure why this is.  I don’t think that it’s an issue particular to me though.  It seems like most people have problems with photos of themselves.  Even people who, in my opinion, never take a bad picture.

I think pictures are an opportunity for you to see how others view you.  It’s hard to get an objective view of yourself, and even harder to get others to give their objective opinions of your appearance.  I mean, most people aren’t going to come out and say you’re ugly, even if they think you are.  I struggle with this since I have varying opinions on my own appearance.  I get lots of positive feedback on my present look, but I often struggle with how honest this is.  Not that I think people are lying to me, I just think a lot of people are impressed with how much weight I’ve lost so it’s hard to weigh what “hey, you’re looking good” means.  I certainly know I look a hell of a lot better than I did last year.  Anyone that knew the 300+ me or even the 250+ me is definitely going to think I look good now in comparison.  But is the “you look good” comment just in comparison, or do they actually think that I look good?  I don’t know, and I’m not really sure how to figure that out.

This is one of the reasons I like meeting new people.  If you can read how they are sizing you up it gives you an opportunity to get an objective look.  Don’t get me wrong, I am immensely proud of my weight loss and I don’t hesitate to bring it up if I meet a new person and they ask about it.  But it is nice to get a feel for how someone views you without them knowing about it at first.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

One Response to Photos are funny things

  1. Lisa A. Maybee says:

    I think you look great, Dave, even if I knew you before the loss! Love, Lisa

Leave a Reply

