Don’t let being discouraged knock you off course

The first couple weeks of any new weight loss program are generally the easiest.  Your body’s initial shock from whatever change you’ve instituted equates into an easy loss, generally.  It’s the next few weeks that determine whether you stay the course, as your body adjusts to the new norm and shedding pounds gets more and more difficult.  That’s when it’s easy to become discouraged, and I challenge you not to let yourself get knocked off the course over a few bad weigh-ins.

The difference for me last year than when I’ve tried to lose weight in the past is that getting discouraged motivated me to work harder rather than give up.  And I think that is part of the key to my success.  There will be incredible highs as you lose weigh, but there will also be plenty of bad weigh-ins and not-so-good moments.  There are ups and downs to every journey, and the measure of your success will be how you handle the lows.  If you keep working and putting in the effort, you will get results.  It just might take time.

The other important part of this is not let being discouraged give you reason to “take the day off.”  There’s a lot of temptation when you’re having a down day to just continue down the bad path and start over the next day.  That’s the easiest way to get knocked off your plan.  Once you start down the path of “giving up” it’s hard to course correct back onto the plan.  I know that once I’ve had one slice of pizza it’s real easy to just keep going until the box is gone, but I force myself to stop.  That’s not to say that you can’t treat yourself every now and then, but there’s a big difference between treating yourself and taking the day off.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

