2011 in review

2010 had some pretty good highs (Hawaii, anyone?), but otherwise it was not a great year in the life of Dave.  I blew up to a weighty 300+ pounds.  2011, however, was pretty awesome in comparison.  I suspect that tomorrow morning I will “officially” weigh-in under 227 to reach the elusive “official” 100 pound goal.  But even if I don’t, I’ve already lost 100 pounds this year.  That in itself would make this the best year in the last decade.  But there is more, of course.

I went to Mexico twice, once with family and once with a really good group of friends.  I had a blast both times.

I’ve taught myself how to live a healthy life and I plan on maintaining that lifestyle for the rest of my life.

I have a pair of size 48 (waist) jeans that I wore last year.  I now wear 36.  It fits pretty well; 34 is just outside of my reach at the moment.  FYI, that’s an entire foot off my waistline!  In other clothes news, I dropped from wearing 3XL/4XL shirts to now wearing XL/L shirts depending on the brand.  Hoping to completely transition to L in the next few months.

I’ve taken risks this year that I haven’t taken in a long time.  I’ve accomplished things that I never thought I would do.  I have failed at things I used to be afraid of trying, and moved on past the failure stronger for having tried.  Some of the things I have tried, even just in the past few weeks, would have scared the crap out of me a year ago (hell, even three months ago!).  As I’ve said before, I’m a changed person both mentally and physically from the guy who weighed 327 pounds at the start of this year.

My new goal: under 200 by the summer.  I’ll get a post up soon with more thoughts and details on my new goal.  Hopefully sometime next week.

2012 resolution?  My 2011 was so successful that I am of course planning a 2012 resolution.  My new goal is not a part of that, because I don’t need the start of a new year to lose weight any more.  I’m past that! 🙂  No, my goal this year is probably going to be more of a personal nature.  I may or may not share it on this blog.  I will decide that once I settle on a new resolution for 2012.

Have a great New Year’s Eve!

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

