The decision to act

“The most difficult thing is the decision to act, the rest is merely tenacity. The fears are paper tigers. You can do anything you decide to do. You can act to change and control your life; and the procedure, the process is its own reward.”
Amelia Earhart

This quote popped up in my facebook newsfeed (thanks Michelle!) this morning, and I knew immediately that I wanted to say something here about it. It’s kind of similar to what I’ve talked about recently with complacency. Doing this thing has taught me that I can change myself, and the thing that was previously keeping me from changing myself wasn’t my personality, it was my own fear.

I hide a lot of my “fears to act” in my easygoing attitude. I don’t want to shed the easygoingness from my personality. I just want to act more in accordance with being who I want to be rather than just letting things happen outside my control. I want to be more in control of my life. Amelia Earhart says to be tenacious, so I’m going to try and be more tenacious. Maybe that will be my New Year’s Resolution for 2012!

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

