Things learned while running

I did this awhile back ago about walking, and I thought it would be fun to do the same thing for running.  So here are some random tidbits I’ve picked up while running:

  • If I don’t stop before the halfway mark I will most likely make it all the way without stopping.
  • If I do stop before the halfway mark good luck getting me to start running again!
  • Don’t underestimate the power of a cute girl to motivate me to previously unobtainable feats of exercise.
  • Also, don’t underestimate the power of my own laziness.
  • After running for a mile I’m not sure how much faster me running is compared to a good walking pace.
  • To be honest I’m not sure how much faster my normal running pace is compared to a good walking pace.
  • Somehow I can always count on a surge of energy when I reach the end to finish strong.
  • Cool down walks are a must.
  • I’ve never vomited after exercising, but I now understand why some people do after running.
  • Slow and steady wins the race, right?  I’ll take the tortoise any day of the week.

Yesterday morning I ran for 1.7 miles at just around 23 minutes.  I think that means if I’m able to run the whole Turkey Trot I can probably get it done in 45-50 minutes.  That’ll be what I’m shooting for!

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

