I don’t even recognize myself from last year

When I look at the photo of myself for 2010 I don’t even recognize me.  Ditto for the picture posted under the photos section for January photos.  Part of it is that my self-image is not the “fat me” but a much thinner version of me then even the weight I’m sporting now.  The other part, of course, is just the fact that I’ve lost so much weight in the last year it’s hard to keep my mental image up to date!  When I returned to Eugene this semester my friend Aila kept commenting on how different I looked and I didn’t really get what she meant until just the other day when I was going through pictures.  And yes, I know this is somewhat of a continuation of a thought that I’ve already posted about both Friday and yesterday, but bear with me for a sec, please.

Part of the motivation behind doing this whole thing was that I had gained so much weight that I was beginning to not recognize the face in the mirror.  I thought I had mentioned that before on this blog, but I can’t find it anywhere so it must have been something I’ve said in an email or in conversation.  I don’t remember thinking that I looked that much different, but looking at the pictures there is no denying it.  The 2009 and 2010 versions of myself are people I don’t even recognize anymore.  As far as the pictures go, I think I’m now somewhere between the 2004 and 2005 versions of myself.  I’m shooting for the 2001 version (the 2000 version was a little punk…).

I should land there just in time to reminisce with all my old buddies at my 10-year high school reunion!  That’s kind of funny because it’s something I never thought of when I started all this, but coincidentally, I should be pretty close to my desired result of under 200 by that time.  I don’t have any problems with that if it works out.  I didn’t plan it that way, but if it happens I won’t be upset.  Quite the opposite actually.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

