An Explanation for Saturday’s Post

In case you didn’t notice, on Saturday I posted a photo spread detailing my weight gain (and subsequent loss) from 2000 to now.  I did so by posting one photo to represent my weight for each year.  Obviously, weight can fluctuate a lot in one year.  This year is certainly an indication of that!  For the most part I grabbed a mid-year photo for each year.  The one time I deviated from that was the last two shots.  I purposely picked a photo from December of 2010 (specifically my family Christmas photo in front of the year that we take every Christmas Eve) to best represent where I was when I started losing weight.  Then for this year’s photo I took a shot of myself on Friday, when I was compiling the photos, to best represent the weight I’ve lost up to this point.

The reason I wanted to compile the photos was that I was thinking further on my last thought in Friday’s post.  I was remarking on how it was interesting to me that many of the people I know now are seeing the “thinner version” of me for the first time since most of my current friends met me either while I worked at Mercury or since I started law school.  I admit that I am somewhat curious to know how my weight loss looks to the casual observer.  The photos that I take each month kind of serve that purpose, but I wanted to look at the bigger picture.  Thus, the post Dave in the 2000s was born.

It took me awhile to get all the pictures together and to get it looking the way I wanted.  But I think the end result does a pretty good job of showing a couple things.  First, it obviously shows the overall progression from then to now.  Second, it shows the fluctuations to some degree.  For instance, you can tell that I gained from 2002 to 2003 but then lost weight from 2003 to 2004.  You can see that it somewhat stabilizes, shoots up in 2005 after my knee surgery, shoots up again in 2008 when I lived on my own, and then huge increases in 2009 and 2010 after starting law school.  And of course it shows the huge drop I’ve experienced this year.  Ultimately, I thought the post did a good job of what I wanted it to do, and that is why I put it up on facebook.  I generally try not to pimp the blog there too much since I think that can be kind of annoying if overdone, but I thought that was worthy of being pointed out!

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

