Shedding the pounds

I remarked when I reached the 290s that I had lost my “law school pounds,” and now that I’m nearing the lower 240s, I think I can officially declare that I’ve lost my “Mercury pounds.”  I don’t quite remember what weight I was when I started working at Mercury, but I think it was somewhere in the 250/260 range.  Pictures of me at the time seem to confirm that guess, so with that guesstimate I can safely say that I’ve shed the weight I’ve gained since starting my first post-college job at Mercury Insurance.

As with pretty much most of my weight loss experience, I find that pretty remarkable!  Even though this past year I’ve been dropping weight, for most of my life I have been constantly gaining weight.  So it is always interesting to reach milestones like this along the way.  It motivates me to keep going, and helps make all this “feel real” to me.  Sometimes I get bogged down on the fact that I still don’t have a flat stomach or my double chin hasn’t completely faded away.  But then I look back at how far I’ve come and it gives me hope for the future.  I can do this.

The other remarkable thing is that most of my friends presently in my life I either met whilst working at Mercury or in law school.  Which means none of them knew me when I weighed less.  It’s sort of an interesting dynamic I think.  For me, my self-image is of my body image at ages 17-19 when I was probably at my best shape.  I think that’s pretty typical.  So I’m working down to that.  I have a frame of reference of where I want to go, so to speak.  I’m not sure what losing all this weight looks to people on the outside who first met me when when I weighed 260+, or at the start of law school when I weighed 290+.  I would think pretty interesting.  Of course, on the flip side there is also the people I’ve met for the first time recently who have no frame of reference at all for how much weight I’ve lost this year.  That’s certainly another way to look at it!

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

