Online dating

So, yeah, I tried online dating. I’m not sure I’m the online dating type, but this attempt definitely did not work out for me.  I made the profile.  Searched through the various female profiles for possible matches.  Found some interesting prospects and messaged them.  And then silence.  I did that 10-15 times before I decided to stop.

I’d be hurt by the rejection, but it’s really not that big of a deal.  Some girl read my profile and decided not to respond.  I never responded to anyone that initially contacted me (because they were weird), so I guess I can’t really blame them.  I think I am more of a meet someone in person type of guy rather than this whole awkward online thing anyway.  Maybe I’ll try again in a few months.  We’ll see.

To me, the main point is that I was confident enough to try.  Since gaining a lot of weight I somewhat put my dating life in the backseat.  It was much easier that way.  So just the fact that I was willing to put myself out there again is a step in the right direction.  With each successive step in this thing I’m doing I get more and more confident in myself.  Maybe that will translate into more successes in my personal life.  Maybe not.  Who really knows?  But at least I’m trying.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

