Some thoughts 75% through

It has been nine months since I started this project, so it’s time for another look back like I did three months in and six months in. So I’ve lost somewhere in the 75-78 pound range so far, which puts me at 75% completed. That’s pretty damn good.  3 months in I was slightly behind, 6 months out I was slightly ahead, and now I’m pretty much right on schedule.  I bounce around a little bit, but at this rate I’m 99.9% confident that I’ll reach 100 pounds lost by the end of the year. At the very least I’ll be pretty damn close.

I was planning on doing this super long thought out post like I’ve done the past two times, but I don’t think I really need to. Simply put, what I’ve been doing continues to work. Every time I feel like I’m about to plateau something happens, and I’m right back on the losing train. In fact, I haven’t had a gain since July 24th. Sure I’ve had a couple lackluster weeks where my loss has been pretty small, but I haven’t actually gained in almost three months. That’s pretty impressive and shows that something is going right!

So I’m going to just keep chugging along and doing what I’m doing. Maybe I’ll hit my goal on time, or maybe I’ll even hit it a little early. Either way, I know I’m going to hit my goal, and that’s something I wasn’t 100% sure of when I started this. That’s not something I was sure of even six months ago.

Which brings me to my next point: what to do after I reach 100 pounds lost. Well, my plan is to keep going. BMI says that “normal” for me has an upper range of 168 pounds. The last time I remember thinking I was a good weight was when I was in the 170s, so I’d really like to get under 180 pounds again.  Maybe I’ll shoot for “BMI normal” after that. We shall see. Some people have suggested to me that 200 pounds is a more realistic goal, but I’m not sure how I feel about that. I would be ecstatic to be under 200 pounds again, but it feels somewhat like “settling” to me. I’ve gone a long way to just “settle” at some point that seems easier to attain.  We’ll see how I feel when I hit my goal of 227 by the end of this year, but I’m thinking I might as well set my sights at 180.  Go big or go home, right?

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

