You know you’ve made it when…

Here’s a couple things I’ve noticed lately that have been pretty cool for me:

1. Walking by a mirror/window and I find myself checking myself and thinking I look good. Oh, okay, so that’s not really an indication of how I actually look. It’s just my own vanity, but it’s nice to finally be able to think that I look good when I go out. I used to just leave the house thinking I look my best, but now I leave thinking I look good. A slight difference, but I think one that matters.

2. Attention. ‘Nuff said. I don’t feel the need to elaborate, but I think everyone can agree that it’s nice to get noticed.

3. The other day I was buying jeans at Kohl’s. I was in the dressing room while a teenager was trying to find pants with his mom. He wanted these pants that were riding a little high, but his mom convinced him to try on a pair that looked a little more normal but may have run a little long. He was complaining about them as I walked out and his mother told him that it looked cooler that way and then she pointed at me and said, “See, he wears his jeans a little long. You just have to wear them confidently like he does.” I felt pretty good about that.

4. I don’t feel fat anymore. Being fat used to be who I was, but not anymore. I feel more like I’m on the higher end of normal.  I certainly have quite a bit more weight that I’d like to lose, but I don’t feel fat. Which is kind of a first for me. Well, at least a first in a long time. I’m still trying to get used to the feeling.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

2 Responses to You know you’ve made it when…

  1. Erika says:

    Wow Dave! I just can’t believe how great you are doing!!!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

