The Effects of a Healthier Lifestyle

My roommate has mentioned a couple times that he’s noticed that I’m more energetic than I was before the summer when he last saw me. I get up and do more apparently. I hadn’t actually noticed that, but thinking about it I do tend to get up and do stuff more than I did before.  I get restless sitting in front of my computer or TV. I’m more likely now to get up and take a walk.

Another thing I’ve noticed is that I’m more confident in myself. I’m not sure if this is a result of my weight loss, but in the past I’ve generally just sat in the back of my classes and not added much to class discussions.  Yesterday, my first real day back at school (I had only one class Monday so I don’t really count that as the first day), I talked more in one day of classes than I did in a whole semester of some of my classes last year. Hopefully I’m not turning into a law school gunner!  I’m also taking more seminar-type classes which are smaller and more discussion-oriented, so my increased confidence could be more because of that. I’m also a third-year this time around, so I’ve got a little more experience under my belt.

So, the confidence may have nothing to do with my weight loss efforts, but I think it is at least a part of it.  Though in general, it feels good to be losing weight and continuing to lose weight.  After being “the fat guy” for so long, it’s hard to contemplate not being the “the fat guy.”  I haven’t quite reached that point yet, I feel, but I’m getting there.  And just the effort of moving further away from that identity feels great.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

