Do what works for you

I get a lot of questions about how I’ve managed to be so successful at my weight loss plan so far, and I always answer it the same way.  I walk every day, and I eat better.  It’s such an easy formula to follow now that I often forget how hard it was to do in the beginning.  Before I got into my groove I struggled to get out and walk a mere two times a week!  And now I walk every day (or almost every day).  I still struggle making healthy eating decisions, but it’s gotten easier over time.

I settled on walking because I’m an introvert.  Now people see the word introvert and automatically associate it with someone who is shy or a loner.  And yeah, I can be shy and sometimes like to be alone, but that doesn’t define me.  I enjoy going to parties, and I can be pretty outgoing at times.  The introvert/extravert dichotomy is just how you recharge your batteries.  Introverts get refreshed by spending time alone, and extraverts get refreshed by being in crowds of people.  While I enjoy hanging out with large groups of people, I definitely need my “alone” time every now and then.  Hence why I consider myself an introvert.

Walking appeals to my introvertedness because it gives me an hour each night to myself.  It physically recharges me because I’m doing something active, and it mentally recharges me because I get an hour alone to my thoughts.  Friends and family often offer to walk with me, which I do enjoy, but if I walk with someone I’ll generally still go on a walk by myself (even if it’s shorter) just to get that mental time to myself.

I had a point when I started writing this post, and it was this: walking works for me, but it may not be your thing.  Walking will help you lose weight, but so will swimming, playing softball, running, boot camp, whatever.  The trick to this thing, as I see it, is to find something that speaks to you.  Because if it’s not an activity you’re going to enjoy you’re probably not going to keep up with it.  When you get into a groove of exercising regularly you’ll start to see results.  That’s really when the magic happens.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

