Do you think money can buy happiness?

When I posted my last weigh-in WordPress suggested this as a prompt, so I thought I’d bite.  It’s not really on-topic for the blog, but it’s somewhat related.

So do I think money can buy happiness?  Well, no, of course not.  But it wouldn’t be an interesting prompt if the answer ended right there.  Though I don’t think money buys happiness, I certainly act like I do.  Each week I make sure to buy a Megamillions lotto ticket and if the state lottery jackpot is big enough I pick one of those up as well.  I like to go on real estate websites and peruse the listings of million-dollar homes looking for the house I’d buy if I held the winning ticket.  It’s a fun dream.

So yeah, money can’t buy happiness, but I believe it can help knock down walls that block our happiness.  For instance, if I won several million dollars I would no longer have the crushing weight of law school debt on my shoulders.  Winning the right chunk of change could set you, your family, and maybe your friends up for life.  Knowing that you and those you love aren’t struggling to survive is a huge relief.  Money can also give you permission to do what you want to do with your life rather than what pays the bills.

Of course, having money probably creates other problems that can block your happiness.  Not being rich myself I’m not sure what those roadblocks are, but popular culture seems to believe they exist.  I have no reason to believe otherwise.

Ultimately, you are the only one responsible for your happiness.

That’s actually related to the purpose of this blog.  One of the self-discoveries I’ve picked up along this journey is that just like you can’t buy happiness you can’t diet your way to happiness.  Some people (like myself) are just going to feel the way they feel about their body regardless of reality.  I’ve lost 60 pounds so far.  Pictures tell the truth of this, yet I still have trouble recognizing that I’ve lost weight in some photos.  I’m continually surprised that I fit into clothes that I haven’t worn regularly in years.  By now I should be used to it, but I’m not.  It’s a process.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

