Thinking of doing a video blog

I tweeted about this CNN.com story last night.  It’s an inspiring fluff piece about a teenager who went to Hawaii and noticed how fat he was in the photos (300+ pounds) and then decided to do something about it.  He exercised in secret because he was ashamed of his weight and shed 130 pounds by the time he graduated college.  It’s a pretty good story, and it definitely speaks to me since I can relate to it a lot.  I went to Hawaii last year and had somewhat of a similar experience, though unlike the kid I take photos all the time and was no stranger to how I looked.  Even though I’ve been fat for the better part of a decade my mental picture of myself is vastly different.  So I can definitely sympathize with someone looking at how huge they are on film and thinking that doesn’t jive with their own self-perception.

Anyways, the piece calls for “iReports” and I was thinking of doing one about my own story.  Unfortunately they already closed submissions so I missed my chance.  I’ve never made a video blog before or done really any video editing, so I was thinking it might be a fun project to try.  You know, depending on time, difficulty, and my own interest.  So there might be something like that coming in the future.  We’ll see.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

