Some thoughts so far revisited

I did this after three months of blogging, so I thought since I’m now six months through the plan I would take another look back at what’s gone on so far.  I’m halfway through with almost 54 lbs. lost so far.  That is ahead of schedule.  At my “three months review” I was a little behind, so I must have stepped it up between now and then.  I’m not quite sure I’ll make my summer goal of cracking the 250s before I go back to Oregon, but I’m definitely going to make a valiant run at it.

Goal evaluation: I had three goals last time around.  Let’s see how I did at following them.

  • Add another exercise component.  Well, this worked in Oregon.  I went to the gym at least once a week, sometimes twice, alternating between the bike and the track.  Down in Cali I no longer have access to a free gym.  I considered getting a summer membership when I first got down here, but they were somewhat expensive.  I’ve been able to keep up with my loss plan by walking, so I’ve pretty much decided to forgo the gym for now since I’m not sure it would add enough value to justify the cost.  I think what helps down here is that my regular walking route is longer with more elevation than my Eugene route, so I get more out of walking here.
  • Keep the Cokes down.  Yeah, I still drink Coke Zero, but not like I used to.  I try drink 2-3 bottles of water each day, so I think that somehow cancels it out or something.  Or so I like to think anyways.
  • Eat healthier/cook more!  I’m still following this maxim.  I continue to get better at choosing healthy food options when I go out.  It helps that they now have calories listed on everything!  Living with the fam also means that I eat more home-cooked meals.  They are also amiable to my eating healthier, so we get lots of healthy eats at home.

So what’s been working well? I originally thought that I’d have to be constantly changing things up to keep losing weight when I started this whole process.  Now that I’m halfway through I realize that it’s more about settling into a pattern that works.  I walk every day pretty much the same route, and that has been working well.  As long as that continues to work I have no problems just sticking to it.  My walk has become such a part of my daily routine now that instead of an inconvenience it actually relaxes me.  I get kind of cranky if I don’t walk.

What could use some improvement? I’m in a groove that’s working, but everything can always be improved.  I don’t really want to rock the boat so much, though, so I don’t plan on changing anything up at the moment.  I have sometimes been adding a running component to my walk.  And by sometimes I mean twice.  Mainly it’s just been running for a very short distance for a couple minutes.  Even though walking has been doing the job and it is healthier than running, I would like to have some confidence in my ability to run short distances at least.  I think it would be good to build up some “knee strength” for running.  You know, just in case I ever find myself in a position where I need to get the heck out of a dodge real quick!

Goals: As I said, I don’t want to rock the boat.  The goal is to just keep doing what I’m doing since that has been my gold ticket so far.

I think I’ve mentioned this before, but it’s weird how much of an attitude shift I’ve gotten from all this.  At the start I was very hesitant about what I’d actually be able to accomplish, but now I know that eventually I will reach my goal.  And I’m already thinking about what I want to do when I reach that goal (set new ones!).

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

