Done in 58 minutes

Happy Fourth! Today I walked a 5K in Newbury Park put on by the Miller Family YMCA. And as the title says, I finished in under 58 minutes.  I was shooting for under an hour, so I was pretty happy about that. Before I started this blog and my whole weight loss adventure I did a 5K Turkey Trot (sponsored by the same group) and finished dead last in 1 hour 12 min.  So it felt pretty damn good to NOT finish last, and demolish my previous time by at least 14 min.  I plan on doing the Turkey Trot again this year and I’m going to shoot for finishing under 55 min I think.  We shall see.

Independence Day 5K 2011

Turkey Trot 2010

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

5 Responses to Done in 58 minutes

  1. Paula Sloup says:

    Dave,

    You are looking amazing! 🙂

    I slept straight through the 5k today, but I will definitely be at the Turkey Trot this year. Any chance I can convince you to run it with me?

    • Dave Smith says:

      Thanks 🙂

      Maybe on the running…I’ve been very slowly trying to start running, but I can usually only go a few minutes. I’d like to work up to a point where I can run a mile, so you might be able to convince me to start out running with you. The thing is though, running is real hard on my knees which has less to do with my weight and more to do with the fact that I just have messed up knees.

      • Paula Sloup says:

        Well, we’ll wait and see. I’m planning on being back up to the point of running a full 5k by then. Actually, I am allegedly running a 1/2 marathon in October. We shall see…

  2. Looking good Dave!

Leave a Reply

