I’m still here

Just been a tad busy lately. I apologize for neglecting the blog a little bit. I’ll try to build up some posts to fill the time between weigh-ins the next free moment I have to spare.

Completely unrelated to my weight loss: I made my first real court appearance Tuesday. Yay me! I conducted a preliminary hearing against a person arrested for insurance fraud. In California, after a person is arrested they are entitled to a preliminary hearing where the People (prosecution) have to prove to the judge that there is probable cause on each element of the crime.  The People met their burden in my case, so we’re going forward.  My supervising attorney even promised that I could second chair and question a witness if it goes to trial why I’m here.  I’m pretty stoked about it.  Hopefully I get more opportunities to work preliminary hearings. Probable cause is not a high standard to meet so the cases generally go forward, which is why law students get to handle them.  It’s good practice.  Unfortunately, the fraud units that I work for don’t have the volume of cases that the other units have (since their cases tend to be larger and more complex).  I know I have at least one more over the summer and maybe a couple more will come my way.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

