Losing my law school pounds

I’ve officially lost my law school pounds.  I’m not 100% sure what I weighed prior to law school, but I think it was in the mid to low 290s.  On one hand, it’s nice to be back at this point, though I still have a ways to go before I reach my goal.  On the other hand, it’s also somewhat depressing to learn that I gained over 30 lbs. in a year-and-a-half time period.  Well, at least it’s off!

My next target is to eliminate my Mercury pounds, a.k.a. the weight I gained in my post-Whitworth years.  I think I weighed about 250/260 after Whitworth, so that means I’m tackling another 30-40 lbs.  And after that, I’ll be working on my Whitworth pounds, which is about another 30-40 lbs. since  I think I weighed in the 220s when I started Whitworth.  It’s kind of interesting that you can divide my life up since about High School in chunks of 30-40 pound weight gains.  But anyways, once I delete my Mercury and Whitworth pounds, I’ll be at my goal!

I don’t want to get too far ahead of myself, but even though my blogging (and New Year’s goal) is to lose 100 lbs. this year, I don’t plan on stopping there.  I’d feel real good to be under 200 lbs. again and ecstatic to be under 180 lbs.  It was either Sophomore or Junior year of High School that I weighed in the 170s, which is the thinnest I ever remember being (since I stopped growing taller, anyways).  BMI says I should be roughly 150 lbs., but if I made it to the 170s I’d be happy just to maintain that.  Of course, we can have that conversation again when I reach the 170s, because mark my words, I will.  It will take more than a year, but I will get there.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

2 Responses to Losing my law school pounds

  1. Lisa Maybee says:

    I know you will get there too Dave. I enjoyed your entry. You make look like a starvation victim if you get down to 150 pounds. That seems really low for your BMI. I am glad you are doing such a great job! xoxo, Lisa

  2. Michael says:

    I have to agree with Lisa here. That BMI figure is wack. You would be a toothpick if you got to the 150s. Hopefully I get to see as much of your weight loss as possible in person when I am schooling you in basketball!

Leave a Reply

