Some thoughts so far

It’s been three months.  A part of me is just glad that three months later I’m still chugging away at this.  I’ve started and stopped so many diets and weight loss plans that it’s generally safe to assume at the outset of any diet that I will eventually drop it.  I think I’ve done Weight Watchers 5 or 6 times.  I’ve started and stopped so many times I can’t even remember which it is.  3 months is probably the longest I’ve ever stuck at a diet; it’s certainly the longest I’ve kept actively doing Weight Watchers.  So in many respects, this has been a huge success so far.

From a numbers standpoint I’ve not done so bad either.  I’ve weighed in 14 times in 13 weeks.  At 2 lbs. a week I should have lost 26 lbs.  I’m only at 24.6 lbs. lost, but the 2 lbs. a week goal was built with a fudge factor of 2 lbs since my overall goal is 100 lbs. and 2 lbs. a week would put me at 102 lbs. over a one-year period.  So I’m not quite there, but I’m within reason.  With the rate I started losing weight at I was hoping to be ahead by now rather than playing catch-up, but it is what it is!  Also, I noted in my last weigh-in that I’m roughly a quarter of the way through the year and a quarter of the way through my goal, so that is definitely a plus.

So what’s been working well so far? I’m glad you asked.  I’ve gotten a fairly regular walking routine going on, walking three mornings during the week and both mornings on the weekend.  My route is about a mile and a half and generally takes me a little over half an hour to complete.  I also added a gym component last Saturday with a light game of basketball and walking around the track (props to my friends for finally getting me out to the gym).  I hope to add that as a regular addition to my exercise routine.

I’ve also been pretty good about eating out.  My eating out has spiked recently, mostly due to me being busy, but I’ve been really good about ordering healthier items on the menu.  When I must eat fast food, I’ve been opting for Quizno’s or Subway.  I know that they can also be unhealthy, but it beats eating a greasy burger and fries.  Also, if I do eat out or I know I’m going to have a big dinner (or other meal) I’ve been good about “auto-correcting” by having a smaller breakfast or lunch.  Generally speaking, though, I aim for lunch to be my largest meal of the day and have a smaller breakfast and dinner.  I’ve also been fairly good at not eating too late, though sometimes that’s difficult to avoid with all the night classes I have.

So, where are some areas that I could improve? Well, one is that I haven’t done the Wii workout in ages.  Most of it is motivation, but some of it is time.  During the week I’m generally pretty busy, and lately I’ve been busy on the weekends with the end of the semester approaching.  Much of the reason I’ve fell out of doing the Wii, though, is that the Wii workout is somewhat awkward.  Because of that I like to do it when I’m alone at the house, and generally times when I am alone are times that I’m not really interested in doing it.

I’ve also stopped keeping track of what I eat on-line.  There’s a lot of reasons for this.   Even though Weight Watchers recently changed their points system up, I’ve gone through the program enough times that I feel like I have a good feel for what a good portion size is.  My problem isn’t knowledge in regards to portion size; instead it’s the follow through in saying no to myself when I want to go beyond the portion size.  I’m also still fairly large, so precision in my calorie intake monitoring isn’t necessary to achieve losses.  At some point, as I get closer to my goal, I assume it will be, but that point is not now.

I’ve also somewhat relapsed on the whole soda thing.  I’m not sure if I’ve mentioned here that I pretty much dropped soda from my diet at the start of all this thanks to a really bad throat cold.  I haven’t succumbed to buying 24-packs (or even 12 or 6-packs), and I’m nowhere near the consumption levels of last year.  However, I do find myself buying the occasional bottle of diet coke (or preferably coke zero!) at the store more frequently.  I’ve even made a couple trips in the past week for just that purpose.

Goals for moving forward:

  • Add another exercise component.  This could be realized simply by continuing the Saturday gym experience or even just following through with the original Wii workout plan.  Either way, I feel like at some point in the near future just walking is not going to be enough.
  • Don’t fall off the wagon in regards to coke.  Just say no.
  • Continue healthy eating and eat out less.  Cook more.
  • Keep up the good work!

Okay, I think that’s good for now.  I might add more later if I think about it.  I’ll probably do another one of these in a few months when I reach the halfway marker.  Holy crap the time moves fast.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

