Walking in the rain

Walking in the rain is just part of the charm of walking outside this time of year in the Pacific Northwest.  Usually it’s just a trickle, like today.  Yesterday, though, was a little bit more than that.  I thought there was a lull in the rain, so I jumped out to get in a walk.  Unfortunately, about halfway through the rain picked up and so did the wind.  So I got to walk through some sideways rain, with a little mixture of hail thrown in for good measure.  It actually wasn’t too bad except for the fact that I came back soaked.  It just built a little character; I can always use more of that!

Today I decided to try a pedometer.  I downloaded the CardioTrainer app for my phone and used its pedometer feature.  I’m a little skeptical of its accuracy though.  After my walk today, it said I had walked 2500 steps or 2.5 miles.  I was little shocked because I had thought my regular walk was a little over a mile.  The app uses my phone’s GPS and Google Maps to calculate the route, so I figured it was probably more accurate than my guesstimate.  But I pulled up the route on Google Maps back home just to be sure and discovered that I was right and the app was wrong (UPDATE: see the next post about the app’s accuracy and my own idiocy).  My regular route is about a mile and a half.  Still a good walk, but not as good as I momentarily thought it was.  Regardless, using the pedometer was cool, and I think I will continue to utilize it in my daily walk.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

Leave a Reply

