Incentives to lose weight

I discovered the ABC Lost store today, which almost saw me emptying my wallet for some Lost gear (to those who don’t know me, Lost is my all-time favorite TV show).  Which led me to another thought I’ve been having lately, motivation.  100 lbs. is a long way to go, and even though I’ve broken it up into weekly chunks, it’s hard to think about it that way.  So I’ve been thinking about ways to motivate myself along the way.

One thing I know some people do when they diet is to treat themselves when they reach some sort of goal.  A lot of times this ends up being something they’ve given up as a result of their diet, such as pizza or ice cream (or some other “bad” meal).  I thought about doing this, but despite my diet, I’m not shy about eating these things when I want to (within reason, of course).  Weight Watchers gives me enough daily points that I can indulge myself every now and then without too much problem.  Which is one of the reasons I like Weight Watchers, because it’s unrealistic to completely give up bad foods and any diet predicated on this notion is doomed to failure in my opinion.  But that’s somewhat tangential to what I want to discuss now.

I’ve been flirting with the 20 lbs. mark lately, hovering within spitting distance a week or so ago before I started regressing.  But more importantly I’m almost to under 300 lbs., which is huge for me because I haven’t been under 300 lbs. since I started law school.  Even though I’ve lost quite a bit since I’ve started and in a short time period, on my end the going feels rather slow.  It’s been hard for me to accept the weight loss as real, if that makes any sense.  Getting back to my pre-law school weight would help me pass this mental hurdle (at least I hope so!).

So I’ve decided to treat myself, but not with food (you can probably see where this is going…).  Once I reach a weigh-in of under 300 lbs., I’m going to treat my self to a Lost t-shirt.  I’m leaning towards this one or this oneThis one’s also a possibility.  The dharma logo ones are also pretty cool.

I also really wanted to get a print.  I’ve been really wanting to get some Lost-style painting ever since the show ended.  So once I hit the half-way mark to my goal, 277 lbs., I’m going to purchase a print from the store.  I have my eye on this one.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

4 Responses to Incentives to lose weight

  1. I finally decided to write a comment on your blog. I just wanted to say good job. I really enjoy reading your posts.

  2. I know how you feel. I’ve been hovering close to the 10 lbs. mark the last couple of weeks. My reward for myself is to have my picture taken with Mickey at 10 lbs (of course!). I’ve lost 8 so far, and since I’ll be in Disneyland tomorrow, I think I will get my picture taken with Mickey anyway, because with my history 8 lbs is pretty awesome!

    And so is your weight loss. You’re doing awesome. We’re all proud of you down here. Can’t wait to see you soon.

Leave a Reply

