What I’m doing here

Every year millions of people resolve to lose weight for the new year.  As someone who has struggled with weight issues since puberty, I’ve made that particular New Year’s resolution several times.  And like many people who’ve said they’re going to lose weight, I’ve failed miserably at following through.  I believe that I’m currently at a crossroads in my life.  I can either continue to do whatever I want and gain weight at an unhealthy rate, or I can make a change for the better by trying to gain some amount of self-restraint and control.

I want this to be something that sticks.  I want it to be a lifestyle change, and not just some fad diet that I drop after I reach my goal and eventually gain all the weight back.  In that vein, I’ve decided to aim big, but start small.  As the name of this blog implies, my overarching goal is to lose 100 lbs. in one year.  This sounds pretty daunting, but in all actuality it’s a little less than 2 lbs. per week, which sounds a lot more doable.  I think my weight in water fluctuates that much daily.

I’m starting this adventure away from home while on vacation.  Not exactly the ideal situation in which to start a diet.  I don’t expect to start out with huge losses, but I do want to attempt some small yet significant things to start out.  First, I am going to try to eliminate fast food from my diet.  When I can’t avoid fast food,  I will try to go with the healthiest option.  Second, I’m going to try and eliminate snacking from my diet.  Third, for main meals I will try some portion control.  I know I should also add an exercising component, but that’s somewhat difficult while on vacation.  I’m hopeless at a gym, and there’s not a lot of exercising options here at the moment thanks to the weather.  If I get the chance I’ll do some walking.  However, I will probably wait to add an exercising goal until I’m back home.

Why am I blogging about this?  My goal is to check in once a week (probably Sundays) with my progress.  My hope is that posting my weight publicly each week will motivate (or shame) me into keeping with the program.  I’ll continue for as long as it works.  I’m not blogging this to be inspirational or to try and gain an Internet following.  I’m just trying to lose weight.  To that end, you, the reader, are promised at least one post each week wherein I discuss my current weight.  I will occasionally post about my goals as I (hopefully) meet and update them.  I will also likely post my thoughts on my progress, in order to help myself in figuring out what’s working and what’s not.  If you’ve followed my rambling so far, thanks for following me as I start this journey.

About Dave Smith
Nerd of various flavors in no particular order: Ducks, Mariners, Harry Potter, Lost, Science Fiction, Fantasy, the law, reading, blogs, and whatever else I like to do on my free time. DFTBA.

4 Responses to What I’m doing here

  1. Michael says:

    I got your back homeslizzle.

  2. Dad says:

    Awesome Dude — Good Luck!

Leave a Reply

